The table below is an example of a summary of what i was hauling a week ago – or more correctly, contracting to PushX Industries to haul.
I had a small contract to haul 1 item that cost me 95m ISK at Amarr which i believe i can sell for 150m ISK in Dodixie and so generate a profit of 55m ISK. That gives me a nice 37% gross profit margin (= 55 / 150). I always work on profit per sales, and the gross profit margin is merely the profit margin i make on selling the product for a higher price. Some might call it the product contribution.
However, there are other costs involved in the sale.
I need to take away 0.80% broker fee to post the item for sale (=1.2m ISK) and a further 0.90% sales tax when it sells (=1.35m ISK). In addition, i need to account for the courier fee of 6.12m ISK. That will leave me with profits of 46.33m ISK (and of course that assumes i don’t need to reduce the price as competitors come in to undercut).
That 46.33m net profit on the 150m sale gives me a net profit margin of 31%, which is a good level of profitability.